Units with Command Centers and slots

Rules discussions and clarifications.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bushman101
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:16 am
Location: Columbus,Ohio-USA

Units with Command Centers and slots

Post by Bushman101 »

I'm going to use a UCM example.

The Ferrum is a Support unit that can take a Command Center to add a Commander.

Does doing this change it from Support to a HQ slot? Currently the army builder does not allow the Ferrum to be taken as a HQ.
If the army builder is correct, does this allow me to take a Commander as a Support slot?

Thanks

User avatar
BlackLegion
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Units with Command Centers and slots

Post by BlackLegion »

No it doesn't. If you play Clash or Battle you still need a HQ Battlegroup.

Nobody
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 1:04 pm

Re: Units with Command Centers and slots

Post by Nobody »

It does allow you to take a Commander in a support slot, but you still need to fill out the HQ battlegroup.

The only value of the Command Center for the Ferrum is being able to hide a backup Commander in a non-HQ unit in case your Command unit gets destroyed (ex: Phoenix gets shot down).

User avatar
BlackLegion
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:59 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Units with Command Centers and slots

Post by BlackLegion »

And you can always put a CV1 Commander into a unit with Command Center for 0pts.

Scout units measure his SoI with 8" from them even if the Commander himself only has a So I of 4".

User avatar
Bushman101
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:16 am
Location: Columbus,Ohio-USA

Re: Units with Command Centers and slots

Post by Bushman101 »

ah. awesome.

I rather like the idea of putting a backup Commander in a Support slot. Makes a good point filler.

Thanks

Post Reply